Vegan recipes the 2nd

Things have been hectic and I am finally getting around to compiling the last of our recipes from our vegan meetup at the lovely resort last month.

Upcoming events:

  • March 19 – Creative Indulgence Potluck, hosted by Artisans of the Okanagan. This event is totally open for culinary ideas, so make what you want – it doesn’t have to be baked. Think you can make it? Let me know!
  • April 23 – TBA, but it looks like we may have a “pioneer recipes” theme and some rather fabulous hosts. Details to follow

Now for more vegan goodies!

Spinach mushrooms

Janice’s Spinach Stuffed Mushrooms

I loved these little mushrooms – what a great little appy if you’re having friends around. Or you could just make a massive plate of them and have them with a piece of buttery bread. Or maybe that’s just me…

1 box frozen spinach thawed and pressed dry.
1/2 red pepper chopped very fine.
1 onion chopped fine
3 garlic cloves chopped fine. Or more depending on taste.
Mushroom stems
dash of hot sauce.
Grated cheese mixed with buttered bread crumbs for topping.
18-24 mushrooms

To get everything chopped evenly, Janice used a food processor to do the pepper, onion, and garlic, and stems.
My recipes are not written in stone anywhere, so these are only approximate measures.

When in doubt, just experiment until you get the flavours and textures you like best.

Laura’s Aloo Tikki

When in doubt, potaotes! These wee treats were warming and a great comfort food – perfect for winter. The recipe is from Allyson Kramer’s blog and is both vegan and gluten free.

Aloo Tikki

Aloo Tikki – aka “fried potato deliciousness”

Lisa L’s vegan cookies

Vegan cookies“They only have three ingredients,” says Lisa. Well, I will happily eat those three ingredients, if someone is kind enough to mix them together, bake them and bring them for me to devour. Yes, please!

In fact, Lisa went above and beyond the call of the cake mix, taking an extra step to add chocolate chips. Find zee recipe here.

Lory’s Curried Eggplant Rolls

eggplant wrapsI just about didn’t manage to get a photo of this before we’d eaten it all. I had long since decided that I wasn’t a fan of eggplant, however I really liked this recipe. It’s very fresh and healthy and leaves you feeling like you’ve done something nice for yourself.

Below are more goodies we enjoyed, but I don’t have recipes for them and I can’t recall who made a few of them. I remember eating them with great happiness – isn’t that what counts?

Tanya’s Roast Root Vegetables topped with nut “cheeze”

Roasted veggies with nut cheeze

My favourite were the roasted beets

Roasted Butternut Squash Salad

Roasted Squash Salad

I know it was a vegan potluck but all I wanted to do was eat this with a piece of chicken. Nom.

Dill Nut “Cheeze” Dip

dill nut cheeze dip

Wonderfully rich! Would be great with veggies or piled on baked mushrooms.

Hummus and Veggies

Hummus and veggies

Ah, hummus, the thing I’m always telling myself I should make more often because it’s just so tasty.

If I have missed anyone or if you have a recipe to add, please let me know. Until next time, happy recipe planning!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes, vegan

One response to “Vegan recipes the 2nd

  1. Ema Jones

    Delish Vegan treat!

Leave a Reply

