Vegan recipes the first

Once again I must start this post by saying that I know one of you gave me a piece of paper with a recipe on it. It was sitting on my kitchen table since vegan potluck night, and now it is not there. The pixies have taken it. Alas, I cannot guarantee the safety of any bits of paper when I am surrounded by so many goodies. My brain simply does not function as it should. So whoever was kind enough to give me that recipe, could you send it to me again? Thank you.

Onward with the first of the recipes!

mediterranean rice

One recipe I don’t have is the one for the stunning Mediterranean rice dish made by Ayman Kanaan. Ayman works with the resort and while he wasn’t able to attend our meetup, he still whipped up this amazing creation. It doesn’t even have a recipe because he flung it together. Yes, Ayman is made of awesome. But he is also a chef and we are amateur foodies, so we needn’t compare our also excellent goodies next to his professional offerings. We’ll just enjoy whatever food he feels like sharing with us. Any time. Whatever day of the week. Or weekends. Any of the meals of the day. Or light snacks. Anything at all. Okay.

Vanora’s Chocolate Avocado Mousse with Coconut Bars

This is one of those recipes where my photo does simply not do it justice. The little coconut bars were so delicious and went perfectly with the mousse.

Chocolate Avocado mousse

From Vanora:

The following is the original recipe. I used a “Magic Bullet” and as given, the mixture is too thick for my blender. So I added extra maple syrup according to taste (for sweetness) and coconut milk (about a half-can) until I got the desired consistency. I’ve used almond milk in the past, so there are options for other substitutions.

  • 1 avocado
  • 1 Tbsp cacao
  • 2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • Blend together!

(My rather crumbly Coconut bars were taken from this recipe at http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2012/08/30/no-bake-coconut-crack-bars/

  • 1 cup shredded coconut (unsweetened) (80g)
  • 1/4 cup agave or pure maple syrup (or 1/4 cup water and 2-3 stevia packs)
  • 2 tbsp virgin coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp salt

I used maple syrup and combined all the ingredients by hand, as I don’t have a food processor as recommended. The mixture seemed rather oily, so I added extra shredded coconut until the excess seemed to be mopped up. [For those of you who liked them, you are welcome to make the same mistake, otherwise it may be wise to leave the excess oil as a binder to keep the ingredients together when the oil solidifies again!] Once combined, press into a container and place in the fridge for a least an hour before trying to cut. (Or freeze for 15-30mins). Can be stored in the fridge or freezer, for at least a few weeks.

Lisa’s Black Bean Cupcakes with Sweet Potato Frosting

Black Bean cupcakesLisa wins the blue ribbon for most thoroughly interrogated recipe. Seriously, if her recipes were secret agents, Lisa would find a way to electrocute their ingredients until they gave up their agency contacts. Why go for the online version when you can reveal in Lisa’s improved one?

black bean cupcakes - Lisa recipe

Chantelle’s 3-layer Almond Coconut Chocolate Bars

Were these not delicious? Despite looking like they would take an extremely long time to make, I still want to make these because YUM. And of course the recipe is from Oh She Glows.

3- Layer Almond Coconut Chocolate Bars

Wendy’s Depression Cake
Ah, yes -the cake I thought was meant for emotional eaters. Also known as Crazy Cake – are they trying to tell me something? Also, who knew there could be so many varieties of one cake? Alas my over eagerness for cake caused me to take a terrible photo, so you’ll just have to gaze at the online photos and imagine eating it again.

Sophia’s Butternut Squash Mac n’ Cheeze

Yet another recipe from the Oh She Glows cookbook. I loved this sauce, but this is definitely eat it while it’s hot kind of dish. Not the best for leftovers as the texture completely changes once it cools.

mac n cheeze

Christine’s Vegan Enchiladas

I loved these! A great meatless option for if you have meat lovers in your family. It’s very Moorish and I doubt anyone would notice it is vegan because it’s just so tasty. Another Oh She Glows recipe? Could we have any more love for this site?

Vegan Enchiladas

I will post the remainder of the recipes and photos next time! Until then, happy cooking (and eating!)

Sophia

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes, vegan

2 responses to “Vegan recipes the first

  1. luminouszest

    looks very good!

  2. Fabulous recipes! We had a cooking class in a private home – I am learning so much about Indian food! Looking forward to the next meet-up. Sandra

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

